Jason Philpot of Sacramento

May 27, 2018…..Eureka, CA…. After chasing leader Eric Johnson for 34 laps, Jason Philpot of Sacramento took advantage of lapped traffic to slip under Johnson and stay out front the remainder of the 60 lapper to win race #2 of the North State Modified Series, presented by Protect the Harvest, at Redwood Acres Raceway Sunday night. Philpot’s win earned him $1000 plus a $250 bonus from Ward Land Management and Development (WLM&D.) This was Philpot’s first win at the Redwood Acres Raceway.

Johnson held off the late-race challenges of Kris Price to collect $700 (plus a $150 bonus from WLM&D) for his second place finish.

NSMS points leader Randy Houston clocked in fastest at 16.514 seconds over 2nd fast qualifier Darrin Sullivan (16.583), Kris Price (16.628), Eric Price Jr. (16.642) and Herman Pulyer (16.674.) Houston drew an 8 chip for the invert placing Johnson and Dustin DeRosier in row one for the start. Philpot and Pulyer were in row two, the Price brothers Eric and Kris shared row three, and Sullivan and Houston started seventh and eighth.

Johnson forged ahead at the start with Philpot diving under DeRosier for second. DeRosier settled into third with Eric Price fourth and Sullivan fifth. As the field was putting down laps, Houston started a forward run passing Pulyer on lap four. Houston continued, nosing under Sullivan for fifth on lap 16, and while Sullivan rode high, Kris Price also drove by.
Terry Deal was next to join the front runners, and at the half-way mark it was Johnson, Philpot, DeRosier, Eric Price, Houston, Kris Price, Deal, Sullivan, Ian Elliott, Rich Cobb, Pulyer, Stuart Campbell and Rick Avila.

As the leaders approached slower traffic, Johnson chose the high side and it was all Philpot needed to dive low and assume the lead on lap 35. Ten rounds later Eric Price spun in turn two to bring out the first yellow flag.

An uneven restart caused an accordion effect that saw the back of the field stack up causing severe damage to Eric Price’s car, ending his run. Stuart and Avila were also involved and both retired to the pits.

When racing resumed Houston passed DeRosier for third with Kris Price following to assume fourth place. Houston was working hard on Johnson, and with only 10 laps to go Price nosed under Houston for third. Price then set his sights on Johnson, but Johnson never faltered.

Philpot led the field to the Sunoco checkered flag followed by Johnson, Kris Price, Houston, DeRosier, Deal, Sullivan, Cobb, Pulyer and Elliott.

Eliott was the $100 winner in the Lucas Oil Dash for Cash where he later donated the money to the North State Modified Series “Driving Out Cancer” awareness fund. Eric Johnson collected $50 for his second place finish. Houston earned the Keyser Hard Charger award for passing the most cars, Stuart won the Naake Shocks certificate, and the Frank’s Radios awards went to Philpot, Johnson and Kris Price. Scribner Plastics jugs were presented to Elliott and Johnson.

North State Modified Series travels south to Madera Speedway for Race #3 on June 9.
The North State Modified Series is presented by: Protect the Harvest, Lucas Oil, Ward Land Management & Development, Hoosier Tire West, Sunoco Race Fuels, Naake Suspension, Five Star Bodies, Racer Bling, Keyser Racing Products, Scribner Plastics and Frank’s Radios.

WLM&D TIME TRIALS: Randy Houston (16.514), Darrin Sullivan (16.583) Kris Price (16.628), Eric Price Jr. (16.642), Herman Pulyer (16.674), Jason Philpot (16.716), Dustin DeRosier (16.799), Eric Johnson (16.857), Terry Deal (16.892), Rich Cobb (16.996), Ian Elliott (17.013), Stuart Campbell (17.140), Rick Avila (17.253).

LUCAS OIL DASH FOR CASH: Ian Elliott, Eric Johnson, Stuart Campbell, Terry Deal, Rich Cobb, Rick Avila.
SUNOCO / WLM&D FEATURE EVENT: Jason Philpot, Eric Johnson, Kris Price, Randy Houston, Dustin DeRosier, Terry Deal, Darrin Sullivan, Rich Cobb, Herman Pulyer, Ian Elliott, Stuart Campbell, Eric Price Jr., Rick Avila

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *